Halal – everything that is allowed to be consumed or used by people according to the Islamic law. First of all, it is safety, cleanliness and good for human health. These are products that are pure both spiritually and physically, produced without the addition of harmful additives and meet the requirements of shelf life and storage.
It is worth noting that Halal products can be consumed by people of any nationality and religion. For Muslims the term “Halal” is primarily a confirmation of compliance with Islamic rules.
A true halal product, in particular sausage, is distinguished by the absence even in minimal amounts of any prohibited ingredient: pork, products made from pork, carrion (an animal, such as a cow or chicken, which is not chopped in accordance with Islamic standards), blood, supplements that may contain prohibited ingredients. In addition, the Halal product is packaged in a shell, regarding which there is no doubt that it is permissible according to Islamic standards.
Sausage casings are divided into two types:
– a sausage casing that is not suitable for eaten (synthetic/polyamide/cellulose). In this case it is used only for packaging the sausage itself and is not considered as such a food product. Halal certification is not required for such a casing and can be used for sausages as a package, the main thing is that it meets state requirements.
– a sausage casing that can be eaten (natural). This type can be used as food, which means that this type of raw material need a separate stage of testing this type of product and there must be Halal certified, which automatically gives a guarantee for Muslims to consume the product.
The natural sausage casings are divided into two types:
– beef gut – the intestines of this animal species that have passed through many technological stages of special processing, including salting, drying and others.
– collagen shell – an edible shell that is as close to natural as possible. It is made of light weight collagen and in their shape are very similar to ordinary sausage casings.
Sausage cannot be Halal if:
– it is made from beef and poultry, but the animals are not slaughtered according to Islamic standards – there is no pork, but this meat is called “carrion” and is forbidden to be consumed by Muslim who respects himself and his family;
– it contains additives, dyes, flavor enhancers, preservatives, which are made from pork, carrion or bones of slaughtered animals, or contain ethyl alcohol;
– it contains other prohibited or doubtful additives in Islam;
– it is packed in a natural sausage casing that is made from carrion or contains additives from carrion.
Many entrepreneurs produce products in this way: they buy Halal beef and poultry (sometimes even just trusting the word of the supplier, which may not be a Muslim), they do not check how the slaughter occurs and do not study what is contained in the prescription, the permissibility of each additive. It turns out that they themselves are confident in Halal status of their products, but in fact they can produce and sell Haram through their own ignorance. This product, in cases where it contains at least one forbidden (Haram) ingredient, is not permitted. It follows that the requirements for the production of Halal sausages are based on the same requirements as for Halal meat.